There is a syndicated talk radio host who insists that liberalism is a mental disorder. I think he’s trying to be funny while professing his conservative values, but he has missed the mark. I was listening to the sound bites of liberal politicians recently and came to an important conclusion: liberalism isn’t a mental disorder, it is a theological disorder.

It seems to me that liberal politicians have confused our role as human beings with God’s role. With good intentions (mostly) it seems that liberals consistently seek to take on the role of God when it comes to social issues. I see liberals taking the responsibility to ensure fairness for all people; taking on the responsibility to care for the poor; taking on the responsibility to provide healthcare. They do this using language such as, “It is our responsibility to ensure equality for all people.” They say this all the time, “It is our responsibility…” There is hidden in that statement a flawed presumption.

It is not “our” responsibility to care for people, it is “my” responsibility. This may sound like a subtle difference, but I assure you it is not. Jesus called me personally to care for people. It is not the responsibility of the others; it is not the responsibility of people in power; it is not the responsibility of people who work at our state capitols; and it certainly isn’t the responsibility of those in Washington D.C.

As a follower of Jesus it is my personal responsibility to care for those who come across my path. It is my personal responsibility to love my neighbor. It is my personal responsibility to treat people the way Jesus treated people. If I come across someone who needs healthcare, it is my responsibility to help provide it. If I come across someone who needs help paying their rent, it is my responsibility to help provide it. If I come across someone who is being treated unfairly, it is my responsibility to defend him.

Jesus never called the government to care for a nation; that is God’s job. It is God’s job to defend a nation. It is God’s job to feed a nation. It is God’s job to heal a nation. It is God’s job to provide resources for a nation. God is the source of all things. It is not “our” responsibility as a country to do the things that only God can do, and it is a mistake for us to assume that because Jesus has called us to care for people personally, that we must also empower the government to do the same.

Liberalism is a theological disorder in part because it assumes the role of God for a nation. Doesn’t it make more sense to be liberal people who radically adhere to the teachings of Jesus to care for people, rather than to support liberalism? If people were liberal in this way, liberalism would be utterly unneeded.

