I’m looking out my window and I see people walking together and it got me thinking about what it means to walk with someone. Usually enemies don’t walk together. When I’m angry with someone I don’t want to walk with them. Certainly strangers don’t walk together—maybe they walk near each other, but not together. So what does it mean to walk together? What am I seeing when people walk together? What does walking together presume?

Walking together requires at the very least we’re going in the same direction. We can’t walk together if we’re going opposite directions. There may be divergence at times, but if we’re walking together eventually we will resume going the same direction together.

Walking together requires proximity. We can’t walk together 100 miles apart. One of us may get off the path to pick some flowers or something, but if we’re walking together we’re going to have to be in close proximity.

Walking together requires conversation. I’ve never heard of people who walked together for any length of time without talking. Of course, there may be moments of silence as we go along the way since friends are comfortable with silence between them, but if we’re walking together we’re probably going to have a conversation.

Walking together requires spending time. It is impossible to walk with someone without spending some amount of time together. I suppose some walks are slower and take longer than others, but if we’re walking together we’re spending time together.

Perhaps walking together simply means relationship. I see people walking and I don’t’ know where they are going or where they’ve been or their depth of knowledge of each other or what they are discussing or how long they will journey together. I simply know they have a relationship. A relationship that has them going the same direction in close proximity as they share with each other for some length of time.

Walking together means relationship. The longer we walk, the better the relationship. The closer we walk, the better the relationship. The more we talk, the better the relationship. The slower we walk, the better the relationship. When we don’t see eye to eye, we keep walking. When the road is bumpy, we help each other keep walking. When one of us wanders off the path, we guide each other back so we can keep walking. When one of us can’t keep going, we pick them up and carry them and we keep walking.

If we’re walking together we are in relationship.

If we are in relationship we are walking together.

This is a good way to think of my life;
a good way to think of my spouse;
a good way to think of my children;
a good way to think of my God.

He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

Micah 6:8 (NIV)

