I’m sitting on the front porch of a cabin on a ranch in central Texas early in the morning. O how I love mornings! There is something magical about mornings: the sounds of nature; the cool breeze; the fresh smells; the promise of a new sun.

Morning represents hope. No matter how dark the previous day was, no matter how long the night, no matter how badly I’ve messed things up, the morning always comes. Are not mornings evidence that our God is the God of second chances? Is not each morning an opportunity from God to make things right? Doesn’t each morning scream out to me that my story is not yet complete and there is still time.

This morning there is still time! There is time to change the path I’m on so I don’t have to repeat the patterns that cause so much pain. There is time to repair relationships that have been damaged. There is time to choose a life with a future that is not dictated by the past. There is time to make right those things which I have done wrong.

The dawn of a new day reminds me that yesterday is gone. Yes, yesterday still affects me, but it does not define me. God is screaming out this morning, “See, I make all things new! I’ve given you a fresh start. Out of the darkness something beautiful has emerged. Walk with me today, and see what more I can do!!”

Rejoice this morning, for God is compassionate. He is not done with you yet! Take possession of this day and make the Lord your portion and you will find that today dawns life anew!

Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
I say to myself,
“The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”
Lamentations 3:22-24

