I think small. I try to think big, but I really don’t. I try to see beyond myself, but mostly I don’t. I try to imagine what I cannot see, but usually I’m just limited by this world. In the end, I think small.

I know a man who used to drink too much and beat his wife. He spent years in prison where most learn how to become better criminals. Today he is passionate about protecting his family and sharing the gospel. I didn’t think that could happen.

I know a man who has been addicted to drugs since he was a teenager. He has broken every significant relationship he’s ever had. Today he is clean and focused and putting his life back together. I didn’t think that could happen.

I know a woman who was abused as a child. She has lived her whole life running away from the fears that have haunted her since her childhood. Today she has forgiven and is raising children of grace and mercy. I didn’t think that could happen.

I know a man who wouldn’t stay faithful to his wife. He ended up divorced and telling jokes to bar mates so they’d buy his drinks. Today he has repented and has remarried his wife and is teaching couples across the nation how to build a lasting marriage. I didn’t think that could happen.

Life seems to be full of impossible situations. I’m constantly encountering circumstances in which I see no possibility for a positive outcome. I see relationships that are too broken. I see people who are too far gone. I see debts that are too overwhelming. I see wounds that are too deep. I see problems that are too complicated. But my problem is I think too small.

I’m learning that God is not restricted by my limitations. God is not bound by my powerlessness. God is not encumbered by my viewpoint. God is not dumbfounded by my confusion. God sees what can become. God realizes what does not exist. God creates what I can’t imagine. God fixes problems I don’t even understand. God does not think too small. He thinks bigger than ever dreamt.

Nobody saw the resurrection of Jesus coming. Nobody. Not the demons. Not the angels. Certainly not humans. Only God could have pulled off the resurrection. Only God could fix the human condition by becoming human himself. Only God could be the sacrifice to appease his own justice.

So no matter what is happening in my life, I must trust God. Even though I think small, God thinks big. God thinks really big. Which is why my new favorite verse is:

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

