Tags

, , , , , ,

There are a lot of implications when we say that Jesus is the boss of us. It means that Jesus has absolute authority over our lives and that we serve no created thing in preference to him. We are saying that we have given our full allegiance to Jesus in such a way that our lives no longer belong to ourselves because Jesus now has ownership of us. We are saying that our ultimate commitment is not to family, not to nation, not to church, but to Jesus alone. We are saying that we reject absolute nationalism and we reject every other unconditional allegiance that attempts to claim our imagination.

But to fully understand the lordship of Jesus we have to take it to the next level: Jesus isn’t simply our Lord, he is THE Lord. This means that he not only has absolute authority over us, but that he also has absolute authority over all of creation; over the heavens and the earth, things seen and unseen. As a result we owe him the same worship and obedience we owe to God. Acknowledging that Jesus is Lord means that he is superior to every prophet, every priest, and every angel in history. Jesus is Lord means that Jesus is the supreme ruler and that no one can challenge or rival his authority. As the Lord Jesus has been given the same status as God and has the same rights over us that God has.

The problem for me is that I say Jesus is my Lord while retaining the title of CEO for myself. There is a great video that illustrates this by One Time Blind. There are moments when I succeed at making Jesus Lord, but mostly I’m constantly in a wrestling match with him, only willing to concede lordship when I’m clearly outmatched by life. This is the way I pastor my church; the way most pastor their churches. I say that Jesus is Lord all the time but I’m afraid I don’t live it very well. I don’t know if anybody lives it perfectly, but it seems to me that if I really believed this I would do a lot of things differently. I tend to plan first and consult Jesus second, but this backward way of thinking is exactly how I end up somewhere in deep left field. I don’t think there is anything wrong with presenting Jesus with our best solutions to common problems, but making him Lord means submitting to his authority when his solution is different.

If Jesus is truly the boss of me I’m going to have to reject some things.
I’m going to have to reject my personal desire for control so that Jesus can have control.
I’m going to have to reject my personal ambitions and accept Jesus’ ambitions.
I’m going to have to reject my American worldview and accept a kingdom worldview.

Jesus is Lord. Make it so even in me.

